POG Cupcakes (Attempt #1)

POG (Passion Orange Guava) juice is incredibly popular in Hawaii. Drinking POG, for me, isn’t only enjoyable because the tropical flavors are so good, but also because the act of drinking it is connected to many fond memories of my childhood in Hawaii.

After moving away from the islands, drinking POG is a rare treat, so when I sit down to have a glass, it is a genuinely nice moment. I’ve made passionfruit cake on several occasions, and, being on a new cupcake inspiration kick, I thought to myself one night while in bed: POG CUPCAKES. I did some research and found that there are several variations of POG Cupcakes, one being the P.O.G. Cupcake from Island Cupcakes in Rancho Santa Margarita, CA which consists of an orange cupcake drizzled with guava puree and topped with a passionfruit buttercream frosting (mmmmm).

I decided to try a passionfruit cupcake with a guava buttercream frosting topped with a fresh orange slice:

Aesthetically, it turned out quite lovely, but the taste of the passionfruit cupcake itself turned out to be a big flop. I tried experimenting with a basic yellow cupcake recipe by substituting applesauce for butter, but this made the batter really watery, especially with the Hawaiian Sun Lilikoi Juice I added. The cupcake is too moist and sticky and did not rise very much. It tastes okay, but it’s too bland – nothing special. I’ll try it again another time with the butter.

Leave a Reply

